About Us


What is the IBEW-NECA Benefits Administration Association?

The IBEW-NECA Benefits Administration Association (Fund Office) is located in Decatur, Illinois. The Fund Office presently administers the NECA-IBEW Welfare Trust Fund and the NECA-IBEW Pension Trust Fund jointly with the National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA) and the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) for many locals located in Alabama, Indiana, Illinois, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, and Wisconsin. The Fund Office also administers the IBEW-NECA Conduit 401(k) Plan.

The Board of Directors

The duties of the Board of Directors include the hiring of the Administrator and approval of the yearly budget and expenses. In addition, the Board of Directors oversees the daily operations of the Fund Office. The Board of Directors and the Board of Trustees are dedicated to the participants and to administering the funds in a most cost efficient manner.

The Fund Office

The Fund Office has 40 employees that administer claims, COBRA, reciprocity, employer reporting, large case management, retiree health and welfare benefits, pension benefits, the 401(k) plan, and various other responsibilities.

Contact the Fund Office

Notice of Privacy Policy

Nondiscrimination Notice Section 1557 ACA

History of the NECA-IBEW Welfare Trust Fund

The NECA-IBEW Welfare Trust Fund (Welfare Trust Fund) was established on November 21, 1955. There were originally five locals that started the Welfare Trust Fund: Local #146, Decatur, IL; Local #193, Springfield, IL; Local #34, Peoria, IL; Local #601, Champaign, IL; and Local #538, Danville, IL. The beginning contribution was five cents per hour. There are currently 19 Locals that are administered by the Fund Office. These locals span from Milwaukee, Wisconsin to Miami, Florida. The Welfare Trust Fund, commonly known as the “Decatur Plan”, is administered in Decatur, Illinois.

The Welfare Trust Fund was, at its inception, an insured plan with Aetna Insurance Company. In October of 1967, the Welfare Trust Fund became self-insured and in April of 1991, the Welfare Trust Fund became self-administered.

On April 1st, 1991, the Welfare Trust Fund became self-administered. As a result of being self-administered it was necessary to form a corporation for the Plan. In the beginning, a Board of Directors was elected which consisted of three labor Trustees and three management Trustees. Each Director serves a 3 year term. The terms are staggered and as a result only one union and one management Trustee are elected annually.

History of the NECA-IBEW Pension Trust Fund

The NECA-IBEW Pension Trust Fund (Pension Trust Fund) was established on June 1, 1971 and became effective on March 14, 1972. A plan year begins on June 1 and ends on May 31 each year. The Plan Year is the period on which the Plan keeps its annual records.

There were originally two locals in the Plan: Local #538, Danville, IL, and Local #725, Terre Haute, IN. Danville’s original contribution rate was twenty cents and Terre Haute’s was ten cents. Many of the other locals came into the Plan in the following three years. There are currently twelve locals in four different states that are being administered by the NECA-IBEW Pension Trust Fund.